Environment News Service


President Bill Clinton Thursday named John Arendt, Alberto Sagues and Jeffrey Wong to the Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board. The board evaluates the scientific and technical validity of Department of Energy (DOE) actions to manage and dispose of spent nuclear fuel and high-level radioactive waste. The major task facing members of the board is to evaluate scientific studies of the suitability of Yucca Mountain, Nevada as a permanent high-level nuclear waste disposal facility. John Arendt is a private consultant who has worked with Union Carbide for nearly 40 years on uranium enrichment and waste management issues. Alberto Sagues is a professor of materials engineering in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of South Florida. Jeffrey Wong is chief of the human and ecological risk division within the Department of Toxic Substances Control of the California Environmental Protection Agency.

Environment News Service (ENS) 1999. All Rights Reserved.